Reviews

  • Average Review Rating: 
  • Lowest Rating: 
  • Highest Rating: 

23 Reviews


Showing Reviews 1 - 23 of 23


  • 1 Star Review
  • Date: January 16, 2014
  • Reviewer: Stefanie, 
  • Ohio
  • Waste of Money

  • OneStepAhead has some great products... THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM: Hard to put together, chips supper easy with adult use, and the bins are not durable either. I read the reviews and they were split good and bad. I bought it and learned the hard way. Save your money. Had I not just had a child and had higher priorities I would have gone through the trouble of returning it. Can't express how much this is not worth the the money.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: January 12, 2014
  • Reviewer: sunnysandiegan, 
  • San Diego, CA
  • Great for compact storage

  • This is great for small toys in diff categories. Goes well with our living room furniture. Our canvas bins fit just fine, not sure why other reviewers had issues.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: May 20, 2013
  • Reviewer: Nola/Mimi, 
  • Springfield, VT
  • Kids Bookcase

  • It looks nice as a piece of furniture sitting in my livingroom. No one can see that it is filled with toys for when my granddaughter comes to visit. I no longer have to bring a bucket of toys out and she loves that she can just pull out the drawers and take out what she wants.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: February 24, 2012
  • Reviewer: sunnysandiegan, 
  • San Diego, CA
  • Great for small space, hard to assemble

  • This is a good compact toy storage unit. It is the perfect height for my 2 year old to be able to reach everything by herself. The espresso color went great with our living room furniture. The material is so so quality but not bad for the price. The only problem was that it took 3 hrs to assemble and came with very poor directions.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • 1 Star Review
  • Date: February 23, 2012
  • Reviewer: Mom of twins, 
  • southington, ohio
  • not worth the money i spent.

  • Not worth the money i paid at all. cheap wood, all around pain to put together. peices did not fit in alotted spaces, stripped screws, cheap cheap canvis bins. i wish i could return this product. oh and also there were nicks and peeling wood in places. the paint is very unproffesional also.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 2 Star Review
  • Date: February 16, 2012
  • Reviewer: cejkelly, 
  • philadelphia, pa
  • my first general disappointment with OSA

  • I really enjoy all of my other purchases from One Step Ahead, particularly the sling bookcase, but this wasn't as functional or as aesthetically pleasing as hoped. I knew it was small, from the listed dimensions, but the top row of canvas bins don't fit within their cubby holes without REALLY forcing... thus when my child goes to remove them to get at the toys inside, they nearly toppled the entire thing on top of themselves!!!! I took the bins out and use the top row as 'open shelving'. The assembly was harder than I expected but then again, it did mention a recommendation of two people. Truthfully, this particular item is NOT worth the price tag. The amount of actual storage and the downsides outweigh the cost when items that store just as much, or more, exist (albeit not as 'pretend grownup furniture looking').
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • 3 Star Review
  • Date: October 24, 2011
  • Reviewer: Amanda, 
  • NY
  • smaller than I had expected but cute

  • I wanted to use it to store toys and I was upset when I realized how small it actually is and it isn't made of the best materials.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 1 Star Review
  • Date: September 23, 2011
  • Reviewer: mother to be, 
  • seattle
  • No Instructions..

  • This product did not come with any instructions. It is not the best material, looks a little cheap. Spend the extra money and get something more sturdy.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: August 05, 2011
  • Reviewer: JC, 
  • Woodstock, IL
  • Nice-looking, sturdy piece of furntiture

  • We're using this as toy storage in our living room. I like that it blends in well with other "grown-up" furniture while being just the right size for a small child to take out/put away toys. It was easy to put together and is fairly sturdy. I like that it comes with bins, but some of the bins were in need of trimming. The fabric around the handles hadn't been neatly cut out.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 1 Star Review
  • Date: August 05, 2011
  • Reviewer: Cynthia, 
  • Oranevale, CA
  • Quality is not there!

  • Don't waste your time and money!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 3 Star Review
  • Date: May 10, 2011
  • Reviewer: Christy, 
  • RI
  • Happy I got it, but...

  • Holds more toys than I thought it would. Looks good in our living area. Somewhat difficult to assemble. Nor myself or my husband could get a few of the screws all the way in which makes it a little unsteady. Slightly damaged corner on arrival but not enough for me to return it and wait for another. Overall, I do like the product
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 1 Star Review
  • Date: April 08, 2011
  • Reviewer: Save the Forearms, 
  • California
  • Cramped forearm and striped screws

  • Good luck screwing the interior screws in. I would send back, but the screws are striped and without breaking the product it would cost too much. If you really really want the item, just screw the interior screw in from the outside. They will not stripe and no one will notice.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: March 30, 2011
  • Reviewer: Mommyof2, 
  • chino, ca
  • Perfect cabinet for kids small toys

  • I got this storage unit to organize my sons ever growing collection of toys. This was perfect for what I needed it for, small toys. I had gotten the big toy chest originally but all his smaller toys were so difficult to get out. This was perfect for those toys. I now keep the large toys in the toy chest & all smaller ones in this. It's perfect. Completely matches. Looks great
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 2 Star Review
  • Date: March 29, 2011
  • Reviewer: Flychick, 
  • Cleveland, OH
  • Not My Best Choice

  • We bought this bookcase for our baby's nursery. I thought it would match the sling bookshelf, it doesn't. It was difficult for my husband to put together as some of the pieces weren't cut properly. He had to make some modifications but was able to assemble it finally. I was also disappointed with the finish. The wood is rough in some areas as if it wasn't finished all the way. The bookcase and bins are also very small. According to the measurements online I was expecting this, just be aware that it's not a big bookcase.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: March 22, 2011
  • Reviewer: mom of two, 
  • san francisco
  • classiest toy organizer we've found

  • I'm so glad we bought these, our living room looks so much neater! Very nice product. We got two and put them side by side. They actually look like real furniture that just happens to contain toys, unlike the barely contained mountain of toys we had before. As others have noted, they are on the small side, but this has worked out great for us - we're using the top as one more bookshelf for the big-boy books. Just the right height.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 2 Star Review
  • Date: March 09, 2011
  • Reviewer: Mommy reader, 
  • Ocala, Fl
  • Smaller than expected

  • I bought this bookcase/organizer to use as a toy organizer along with the bookcase media carousel, since they came from the same company and the color would match. However it is much smaller than I thought from the online pictures. It is at least a foot sorter than the media carousel. While it is decent quality and I'm keeping it, be warned that it is not going to pack a ton of toys. We fit the equivalent of one medium sized, 2 feet by 3 feet container's worth of toys in it.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: February 21, 2011
  • Reviewer: Mommy Loves to Organize, 
  • Newark, OH
  • GREAT ORGANIZER!

  • This piece was actually very easy to assemble and fits a small nook in our living room very nicely. The wood is more of a cherry brown color, and the storage bins are your neutral stone color. Yes the bins are small but they are perfect for your small items like Hot Wheels, dinosaurs and animals, etc... Once again, another A+ to One Step Ahead for an amazing organizing unit that doesn't look like it came from preschool classroom! TOP NOTCH!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 3 Star Review
  • Date: February 08, 2011
  • Reviewer: Horino79, 
  • Wisconsin
  • Average

  • I love the look of this product and it fits in exactly the right place in my living room. I love that! All the toys that were overflowing in one bucket are now nicely organized. I also love that I can place things on top of it, and I look forward to using it for other stuff once the kids are grown.This product was a complete pain to put together. The pieces were not measured correctly so I had to use lots of force to get them to fit. There were also too many pieces to connect to each other AND hold them together AND tighten the screws. They could have made this product SO much easier to put together by making a few simple changes, such as making all the back pieces "flush" with each other. Even with two people, this product was very difficult to put together.Because of the "look" of it, it is still a nice product, but because of how hard it was to get the pieces to fit, I don't think it's worth [$]. Maybe [$]or so.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: January 25, 2011
  • Reviewer: Frances, 
  • New York
  • Love This!!

  • This is great space saver for my son's toys in the living room. Matches the rest of the house nicely and he likes putting his toys in and taking them out. It is a bit smaller than I thought it would be but still a great item. Well made and pretty easy to put together...except for the dividers..they were a bit of a pain.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 3 Star Review
  • Date: January 09, 2011
  • Reviewer: Carrie, 
  • Chicago
  • Looks nice....difficult to put together!

  • I saw this product online and I thought it looked perfect for our living room. I have purchased other products from this line (toy box and book shelf). I was a little disappointed when I received the product and one of the pieces was a misfit. I had to call customer services and they sent out a replacement. My husband assembled the product and thought it was difficult to put together. Despite it all, it looks nice in our living room. It is perfect for small spaces and small toys. Do not purchase if you think it will store big items. It is at child height which is also nice. All and all, it served it's purpose for our child.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Showing Products 1 - 23 of 23

Back to Item Page

Write Your Own Review

Get the latest news, offers and exclusive promotions. 
  Sign Up
Security Seals

For two decades, parents have trusted One Step Ahead to bring them quality, innovative baby products. Unlike other baby companies, we pre-test everything we sell, from state-of-the-art strollers and car seats to medical-grade breast pumps and proven potty training aids. We only bring you the best baby gear and accessories all approved by our real-life Parents Panel.

Whether you're looking for designer crib bedding or top-performing baby slings, carriers, or teething aids, you'll find them here, along with a thoughtful selection of educational baby and toddler toys. When we can't find products that meet our standards, we create our own. See our exclusive baby clothes, diaper bags, baby bath supplies, and unique, personalized baby gifts.

We're more than a source for unique, hard-to-find baby products. We bring you the latest information on baby care, real customer baby product reviews, and more. If you're expecting, be sure to create your personal baby registry. And what fun: visit our baby shower idea center for baby shower games, invitations, favors, themes, and planning tips!

Welcome to the world of One Step Ahead!

Find thoughtfully selected products at One Step Ahead to help you and your baby...every step of the way!
Shop Online or Call 1-888-557-3851