Reviews

  • Average Review Rating: No Rating
  • Lowest Rating: No Rating
  • Highest Rating: No Rating

49 Reviews


Showing Reviews 1 - 24 of 49  View All


  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: May 20, 2013
  • Reviewer: Momma of three, 
  • Mason City, Iowa
  • works great

  • My five year old had the habit of sucking his two middle fingers. He couldn't quit on his own, so I ordered the finger guard. He wore it for five nights and the habit was broken!! Only wish I would have ordered sooner. Works great! Recommend it to everyone.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: April 21, 2013
  • Reviewer: Single parent, 
  • Texas
  • Awesome

  • This is a great product and worth the price. My 3 yr old daughter stopped sucking her fingers in less than a week during the day and just over a week at night. It's better, in my opinion ,than putting that pepper stuff on their nails daily. The only downside was putting and taking the wristbands off. My daughter sucked the same fingers that she eats with so it came off for every meal and she had gymnastics so again it had to come off for that. We finally just put elastic around it and it was easier. Just slipped it off and on especially at night when she fell asleep without her fingers, I just wanted to make sure she didn't put them in her mouth and it made it easier that using the wristbands. A great product. I'm now 1 month of no finger sucking. My daughter is very proud when she wakes up and says I didn't suck my fingers.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: April 15, 2013
  • Reviewer: patmo, 
  • Lansing, MI
  • GREAT PRODUCT

  • This product was great! My son is almost 4 and has been sucking his fingers since birth. We tried everything to get him to stop. After purchasing the guard he had stopped sucking them during the day within a week. It took about 2 weeks for him to stop at night, but it was DEFINITELY worth the money!!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: January 01, 2013
  • Reviewer: Joe, 
  • LA
  • It worked in 3 days!

  • My daughter is almost 4 and has been sucking her fingers since birth. Nothing worked to stop her. The t-guard Finger Guard worked in 3 days. I thought it would take a few weeks and I am really surprised it worked so quickly.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: November 26, 2012
  • Reviewer: Sharon, 
  • Clover, SC
  • Working but Not Durable

  • The fingerguard seems to be working, however the guard is not durable. The first week the guard looked great. In two week my son bit it. It did not take much for the tips to split open. We have been taping it up, hoping to get to week four. Overall, it appears the device is working, however it looks awful.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • 3 Star Review
  • Date: October 12, 2012
  • Reviewer: Fingersuckingfanatic, 
  • Connecticut
  • My son discovered his other fingers....

  • Child was angry first night it was on, next morning it was still on, and child was ok with it. It did teach to not suck the 2 preferred fingers, the index and middle finger, but it raised the situational awareness of the child to those same digits on the other hand. We decided to take off the guard for a few days, and now he alternates hands. After wearing the guard, our 2 year old child now is aware that he shouldn't suck his fingers, but he sneaks it. We are considering buying another guard for the other hand. I look at it this way... Buying two of these guards, though they are kinda pricey, is alot less cheaper than seeing the kid get sick from sucking dirty/contaminated fingers and taking a ride to the doctor, or paying for braces and dental work
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: September 07, 2012
  • Reviewer: Kezo, 
  • Los Angeles
  • IT ACTUALLY WORKED

  • What a great and effective product. My daughter was the queen of sucking her fingers and she stopped within two wks. We could not believe it. She is three and a half and we didn't even have to take away her blanket. AMAZING. It works.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 2 Star Review
  • Date: August 10, 2012
  • Reviewer: superbowlmomma, 
  • md
  • Not worth the money

  • My son is 6 and was able to pull the finger guard off within 5 minutes of us putting it on. It will work when you put an extra reinforcement on it like tape, but for this amount of money you would think it would work without it. With not being able to return it I don't think it is worth the money.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: July 29, 2012
  • Reviewer: My guard, 
  • Theodore, Al
  • I couldn't ask for anything better...

  • The product works!!! I would say in a matter of days my child has stopped sucking his fingers. I continue to use it at night, I just want to make sure he does not relapse. Otherwise, there are no signs of him sucking those nasty fingers. Also we can tell a difference in his speech and communication skills. Thank God for the finger-guard....
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: May 31, 2012
  • Reviewer: simone, 
  • northeast, ohio
  • it really works!

  • i got the finger guard for my 26mo old son who sucked his 2 fingers so much, the middle fingernail got infected and completely fell off. our peds recommended this guard. i was hesitant about the price and about him being so young, but i wanted to break this habit sooner than later. i really thought that he would fight me putting it on and wearing it, but he was (and is) so good about it. the first time i put it on he cried, not knowing what was happening, but then got down from the chair and immediately went to show his big sister his cool hand. we've been putting it on about 12-20hrs a day for almost 2 weeks and i think we might have a winner. he sometimes tries to suck his other hand, but it obviously doesn't satisfy, so that doesn't last long. i highly recommend.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 1 Star Review
  • Date: May 25, 2012
  • Reviewer: disappointed Mom, 
  • Colorado
  • DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!

  • I purchased this to curb my toddler sucking her fingers raw. My husband and I were excited to finally have a way to ease her out of sucking on her fingers. We read the instructions and applied it to my 2.5yr old. She had it off in 5 mins. We reapplied it and made sure it as on snug. Once again she got it off. If your child has is one that learns by watching they are smart enough to get this off. Save your money and find the bitter gel from the drugstore. I was told it couldn't be refunded since the package was open..Duh!! How would we know it was garbage if we didn't open it and try it? I shop often from this site but I'm really disappointed in this product and Leaps and Bounds for selling it. The only thing they did was send me another useless one. I had to give it atleast one star so it would process the review..it didn't deserve that much.Gee THX
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: April 20, 2012
  • Reviewer: Thomas, 
  • Carneys Point, NJ
  • Overall good product, cheap materials.

  • Instead of issuing many wrist bands with the product, it would be more beneficial to have one band that doesn't have to be broken to be removed. Something similar to a watch wristband that would be difficult for a child to remove, but easy to be reused. The product did work well, but every time my son went potty or had to eat or played outside or washed his hands it had to be removed. Otherwise it would get dirty and we couldn't wash in the same manner he washed his hands, we had to remove it and really clean it. Which is why we chose to remove it ahead of each activity mentioned. For a young child this was highly inefficient. I also think the price is too high for a small piece of plastic with cheap plastic wristbands. In the end it did the trick after about a week he stopped sucking his thumb. Previous to this he sucked his thumb for sure every time he slept and several throughout the day. The first night was the toughest because he did not understand why he couldn't suck his fingers, but after that he was fine.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: April 12, 2012
  • Reviewer: Mamabear730, 
  • NH
  • Finger guard

  • The finger guard is really a great find. It truly has helped our daughter stop the finger sucking after only a couple of weeks! The guard itself is a very comfortable and flexible plastic that made it very comfortable to wear. Our only complaint is the bands used to secure the guard really irritated her wrist due to the sharp edge of the band. If it is secured too loosley she could get the guard to slide off her fingers, but when we secured it tightly the band cut into her skin. We used bandaids to eliminate this problem. Also it is pretty expensive.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: March 19, 2012
  • Reviewer: Rae, 
  • RI
  • Solved the problem

  • My daughter had been sucking her two middle fingers at my second sonogram, so it was no surprise that she was sucking them after she was born. What did surprise me was that at 4 1/2, 5 and 5 1/2 she was still sucking them. We had tried wrapping them in band-aids, a splint, medical tape, and nothing worked, she simply unwrapped it. Finally shortly after she turned 6 I bought the guard. Within 5 nights she was over her finger sucking. The first 2 nights were NOT pretty as she didn't really want to give it up, but we found that by putting 2 bands on, one above her thumb and one in the recommended location, she would not wiggle it off. Perhaps I should have gotten the smaller size, but I don't know that this would have made much difference in her case. Regardless, after 5 nights and 5 nights of band-aids on her fingers to make sure she wasn't sucking them in her sleep, it's done!!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: March 05, 2012
  • Reviewer: Kelley, 
  • Michigan
  • Good product

  • This is the only product of it's kind I could find to help my daughter who sucks her two fingers. There are many products for thumbsuckers, but not fingersuckers. My daughter is 4yrs. old and has been wearing it night and day for 4 weeks now. She seems to not need it during the day anymore, but still needs it at night. Some how now matter how I adjust it, she is able to slip it off at night. I even tried the suggestion of taping her fingers first, but she was still able to get out. However, she continues to do well with stopping her habit. Night time is still in issue, but our dentist said it could take up to 3 months to work. Overall I'm very happy with is product.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: February 29, 2012
  • Reviewer: Jay, 
  • Canada
  • Worth the $

  • Used this with our 2 year old son, who'd been sucking his fingers since before he was born. It's worked in just 12 days! Very impressed and worth the Money. It's still in very good condition, if you're hoping to save it for younger siblings.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: February 23, 2012
  • Reviewer: Tara the finger snatcher, 
  • Savannah, Georgia
  • It's Great But Not Durable

  • My child has been sucking her fingers on the left hand since birth. This product has an excellent concept, however, it needs to be made more durable. Saturday, 2/25/2012 will make 3 weeks and she has already broken 2 of the connectors to the fingerguard. One Step Ahead says it should take 3 weeks to break the habit, but what if you need to reuse it? The fingerguard does not hold up for 3 weeks of daily use.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: November 04, 2011
  • Reviewer: LGM, 
  • Flagstaff, AZ
  • Fingerguard

  • Easy to use and successful in helping my child stop sucking her fingers! This specific product was recommended by her orthodontist, so from a trusted professional. He was right. It works, easy to use, and my child was pretty excited to work with it. It does not interfere with her sleep; the bracelet and guard is pretty comfortable. She puts a sticker on a calendar after each successful day.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • 2 Star Review
  • Date: September 05, 2011
  • Reviewer: Leslie, 
  • Round Rock, TX
  • She takes it off!!

  • I got the Finger guard for my daughter who is four. Within hours of putting the finger Guard on, she was able to get her fingers out and suck them. I tried to make it tighter but it just left a red mark around her wrist. I tried to use two straps, one around her hand and one around her wrist. That did not keep her from getting her fingers out!?! I do want to be fair and say, with my first child all I had to do was let her pick out her favorite bandages for her thumb and she stopped sucking her thumb within a week! My youngest daughter is very wiley and strong willed! I was tring to avoid having a dental cage cemented in my daughters mouth, but I think that is what's going to happen.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: September 04, 2011
  • Reviewer: Kate, 
  • Pensacola, FL
  • Fingerguard

  • We have used the fingerguard on our 3.5 yr old son for about a month now, and I would say we are 80% there. It was very hard for him to sleep without sucking his fingers for the first two nights, but after that, he has done well. We only keep it on at naptime and bedtime since he doesn't suck on his fingers at any other time. I will tell you that it has caused him to stop taking his afternoon nap. He just isn't tired enough to fall asleep without sucking his fingers, so he just lays there in bed with his fingerguard on. So beware of that if your child is at the age of where he/she could drop their nap. I say we are just 80% there (100% would be he has completely given up the habit) because it will occasisonally suck on his fingers when he is tired and he just forgets. I want him to stop sucking completely (not even think to do it) but I think that will take more time. All in all, this product does the job if you, the parent, can work through the tears during the first few days.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Showing Products 1 - 24 of 49  View All

Back to Item Page

Write Your Own Review

Get the latest news, offers and exclusive promotions. 
  Sign Up
Security Seals