Reviews

  • Average Review Rating: No Rating
  • Lowest Rating: No Rating
  • Highest Rating: No Rating

99 Reviews


Showing Reviews 1 - 24 of 99  View All


  • 3 Star Review
  • Date: May 21, 2013
  • Reviewer: Rocco's mama, 
  • Boston, MA
  • Block the light but very stiff

  • These light blocking panels do block the light. However, they are tough to slide open. They're pretty stiff and when I slide my daughter's curtains open each morning and after her nap, the panels don't really stay open. So, they block the light but they're not out of sight when you have them open.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: July 27, 2012
  • Reviewer: Mommy Hen, 
  • Greenville, NC
  • Does the job, but dangerous hooks!

  • These curtains do an excellent job of decreasing light coming into my children's rooms. The length is perfect for their windows. They aren't very attractive, so be sure to have curtains or something decorative to hang over them. Also, the hooks are VERY sharp - I have been stuck by them when trying to utilize them and they have fallen off several times. I finally got another rod to thread the drapes through. I recommend this, but PLEASE THROW AWAY the hooks!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: July 24, 2012
  • Reviewer: Mommy of 1, 
  • New England
  • Works great but

  • This was a great idea. My daughter was having a difficult time falling asleep due to her bedtime being 8:30 and it still being light out. Same with naps. I got them opened the box and they had dirt on them and the sides were fraying. For the price I paid I thought I would have gotten a better quality product. If I didn't need them so bad I would have returned them. They were not as wide as I needed. Would ave been nice if they came in a variety of sizes. I would have given this 2 stars for quality but I gave it 4 stars because the product works great. Just wish it came clean.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 3 Star Review
  • Date: July 13, 2012
  • Reviewer: JustKaryn, 
  • Door County, WI
  • Wish they were wider

  • Good product but I wish they were wider. A little too narrow for my daughter's windows but we still use them. And, really, what good are black out drapes if they're not wide enough? For that reason, they were not worth the price to me. Also, keep in mind that these are just plain white, so you will want to use them behind your regular drapes. And it's a tad tricky to tack them correctly when regular drapes are wider than these blackouts. I would recommend this product to those with narrower windows and existing drapes.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: July 12, 2012
  • Reviewer: SmTwnMom, 
  • Vancouver, WA
  • Great for blocking light

  • Better at blocking out light than any shade we've tried. Only problem is that they are extremely wrinkled and therefore, do not lay flat/smooth. The width is bigger than our window opening but you should account for the mounting to be sure it covers your window sufficiently - ours is pretty tight at covering it.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: July 06, 2012
  • Reviewer: Jenny, 
  • South Jersey
  • Great liner

  • This liner does exactly what it suppose to. It blocks the light pretty well. My son sleeps longer in the morning, and goes to sleep faster at night. Make sure though the measurements will work for your window and drapery. It does for us.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 4 Star Review
  • Date: July 06, 2012
  • Reviewer: Library Lady, 
  • Silver Spring, MD
  • Blackout Draperies

  • A darkened room really makes it easier for ANYONE to fall asleep before sundown. I just wish they were a little wider - I don't really need 2 pairs ; but there are small gaps at each end of my window...
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: June 05, 2012
  • Reviewer: Serra, 
  • Rising Sun, Indiana
  • Does the job.

  • If you're looking for almost complete black out this is what you want. I only say almost because it does let some light in around the edges. I bought some velcro and attached that to the wall and the curtain to remove what light was being let in. My 15 month old daughter has always slept until 8 or 9 am, but I was putting up a blanket to her window to block out all the light at bedtime/morning. She goes to bed at 8 and now that the time has changed here it doesn't get dark till about 9:30. This has done exactly what I wanted it to do!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 3 Star Review
  • Date: May 30, 2012
  • Reviewer: Mommy Jill, 
  • Rapid city, sd
  • Not what we expected

  • Mechanism to attach shade to existing curtain was not what I expected. Was going to use for toddler room, but the pins used to secure shade to curtain are very sharp on one end and no way to permanently close off sharp end. As we know toddlers can like to whip the curtains around which would probably dislodge the curtain and just require refastening shade to curtain. Hooks would probably not come off, but not worth the chance.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: May 22, 2012
  • Reviewer: AKGIRL, 
  • Alaska
  • Works Well

  • These are working well so far - living in Alaska with the long hours of daylight, this allows my daugher to sleep without being bothered by the early morning or late night light. I just wish I would have measured her window before ordering. The panels are not very wide and I will be ordering one more pair. They are a great value and very easy to hang. I'm considering getting some for my bedroom!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: May 19, 2012
  • Reviewer: flummer1, 
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • So happy with these!!!

  • I wish I bought these earlier! I bought two sets - one for each window in my 1 year-old's room. They were very easy and fast to install on the back of my existing curtains, and I was able to just cut them to the correct length. I immediately noticed the noise reduction in the room and love the darkening effect - handy especially in the summer months with extended daylight hours. Would recommend to anyone with children.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: May 15, 2012
  • Reviewer: farmmomof2, 
  • Vermont
  • Work well

  • These are in my one year olds room, and are proving to be great come nap time. Make the room nice and dim, and also helps in keeping that first morning sun out. I did cut them to fit my window length and had no problem with fraying edges either. Look great.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: April 12, 2012
  • Reviewer: AZ momma, 
  • Phoenix AZ
  • Best for AZ summer

  • In AZ the summer days are long. Light starts peaking in our windows as early as 4:45 am. This cuts all light and the heat from the sun. Helps my 2 yr old sleep until 7:30 or 8am So Easy to assemble. Just purchase a pressure curtain rod which is adjustable and does not require drilling any holes. These were up in 10 min after I cut them to the right length. Love them!!!!!!!!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: March 08, 2012
  • Reviewer: JB1, 
  • Ohio
  • Excellent!

  • These are great, I thought about getting just the curtains that claim to be blackout but decided on these in combination with them and thank goodness I did. Without these liners those curtains would have let in a lot of light!!!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: January 24, 2012
  • Reviewer: Jessi Mommy of 2, 
  • Enterprise Al
  • LOVE THEM

  • I put this product up first in our 2yrs old room because she didn't think she needs to sleep past 445am! She is now sleeping until 7!!! It makes the room dark and it helps with the sounds of the outside.. I love this product! We also bought one for our youngest daughters room (7mon)...
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: November 02, 2011
  • Reviewer: AKPOW, 
  • Arroyo Grande, Ca
  • Great product

  • I just put these blackout drapery liners up in my daughters room and they block out all light coming in through her window. This is a great product, I will be buying more for my room!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: September 06, 2011
  • Reviewer: A Special Needs Teacher, 
  • North Carolina
  • Great blackout shades

  • These shades really block out lots of the sunlight. Also, it cooled down the room quite drastically during the day. Wish they had some fun colors to choose from, but it serves its purpose!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: August 16, 2011
  • Reviewer: Lauren Mommy of two, 
  • Little Rock, AR
  • Daughter Sleeps an extra hour!

  • I just hung these in my 3 year old's room and she sleeps an extra hour in the mornings! I also bought a set for my soon-to-be-here baby boy's room and I hope they work just as well for him. I did need buy a roll of Velcro and put a few small pieces along the bottom to attach the drapes to the wall and down the middle where the drapes meet to keep them together. However, my windows are such that I couldn't hang the drapes from a tension rod in the window sill. That would be the ideal way to hang these. I'm considering purchasing a set for my room now!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • 1 Star Review
  • Date: August 15, 2011
  • Reviewer: mbix, 
  • Austin, TX
  • Blackout Drapery misses mark

  • Good idea but horrible design; must have been measuring hobbit windows when designing. Would need at least two to cover average window and four to cover double window. Really disappointed.
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • 5 Star Review
  • Date: July 27, 2011
  • Reviewer: Karen --the light sleeper:), 
  • Flushing,MI
  • LOVE IT!

  • I have been search for long and hefty curtain liners for our master bedroom. I have tried the most expensive things and nothing worked. I kid you not....these things block out sunlight!!! I doubled them up because although they were long enough, they weren't wide enough so I ordered two packs and they worked out fine with my 84'' W window. The liner is A LINER, so obviously it has to be covered up with a non-sheer drape. I am covering them up with some satin drapes that match the color scheme in my room. I am truly impressed with quality and price!!! I will buy again for the nursery once my baby is closer to due date! Thank you One Step...Honestly, I am impressed:) I've included a photo of our room with the lights on and off..at noon!
    • Was this review helpful?
    • Yes
    • No
    • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Showing Products 1 - 24 of 99  View All

Back to Item Page

Write Your Own Review

Get the latest news, offers and exclusive promotions. 
  Sign Up
Security Seals

For two decades, parents have trusted One Step Ahead to bring them quality, innovative baby products. Unlike other baby companies, we pre-test everything we sell, from state-of-the-art strollers and car seats to medical-grade breast pumps and proven potty training aids. We only bring you the best baby gear and accessories all approved by our real-life Parents Panel.

Whether you're looking for designer crib bedding or top-performing baby slings, carriers, or teething aids, you'll find them here, along with a thoughtful selection of educational baby and toddler toys. When we can't find products that meet our standards, we create our own. See our exclusive baby clothes, diaper bags, baby bath supplies, and unique, personalized baby gifts.

We're more than a source for unique, hard-to-find baby products. We bring you the latest information on baby care, real customer baby product reviews, and more. If you're expecting, be sure to create your personal baby registry. And what fun: visit our baby shower idea center for baby shower games, invitations, favors, themes, and planning tips!

Welcome to the world of One Step Ahead!

Find thoughtfully selected products at One Step Ahead to help you and your baby...every step of the way!
Shop Online or Call 1-888-557-3851